Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

Van Gogh’s “A Wheatfield with Cypresses” (F615)

Vincent van Gogh – arguably the most recognisable name in art – painted three versions of A Wheatfield with Cypresses in 1889 while at the Saint-Paul-de-Mausole mental health facility in France.

Creativity loves (and cures) insanity, right?

My Mom is a big fan of van Gogh’s work and very casually asked me to paint the London version of A Wheatfield with Cypresses. The original looks like this:

Original Van Gogh
Original Van Gogh “A Wheatfield with Cypresses”

Challenge accepted.

It took me a couple of days, but here are the steps:

Lines first:

Heritage Craft Acrylic

Using a digital image for reference, I tried to match my ready-mixed colours as closely as I could. Mixing colours is not my thing (and my excuse for buying as many acrylic colours as I want to!).

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

Kneeling over a canvas is some of the best core exercise ever! Keep your back straight and contract your abs 😛

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

It looks hella-messy, but this layering technique has really helped me to loosen up a bit and not be so perfectionist about my work. Perfectionism is the enemy; painting outside the lines is the solution!

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

I won’t lie, these clouds – though amateurish-looking – were hard!

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

So many different greens! At this point, I really felt like progress was being made.

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

So close… and yet…

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

Look, it’s not a perfect replica, but my Mom was really happy with it and that’s what mattered the most 🙂

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint

Heritage Craft Acrylic Paint is the lifeblood of my paintings. These are the colours I used:

Blues: Wave Blue, Beryl Blue, Polar Ice, Mid Blue, Mod Blue, Baltic Blue, Sky Blue
Greens: Sage Green, Vine Green, Grass Green, Mountain Green, Rayner Green
Yellows: Sun Yellow, Yellow Ocre, Golden
Other Colours: Cloud Grey, White, Golden Brown, Mars Red

Comments welcome 🙂

5 thoughts on “Van Gogh’s “A Wheatfield with Cypresses” (F615)

  1. Sugoiiiiii! Brilliant work, Col! I saw my first van Gogh (‘Daubigny’s Garden’) right here in Hiroshima – you can get right up close to it and see how loose and thick the lines are. Your version is amazing, I am sure your mom absolutely loves it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome 🙂 I always wondered why he wasn’t more famous while he was alive, with that particular style 😦

      Thanks – yup, she’s very happy with it ^_^

      Like

  2. I love Van Gogh, over time I did three pilgrimages to the National Gallery in London to look at “Sunflowers” It is so iconic. I love your version, it is a “replica” but still reminiscent of “you”, that is cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks.There’s just something about the old masters’ paintings that almost speaks to you through the canvas…

      I think this was also quite sentimental because I took my Mom to the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam and she’s wanted this painting for about 10 years. I felt that my ability was finally in a place where I could do it some justice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

